mountains in india

Confusing Words in English Language. Free Reading..

Mountains in India

A mountain is a large landform that stretches above the surrounding land in a limited area.
11. Gangotri Group
The Gangotri Group of mountains is a subdivision of the Garhwal Himalaya in the northern Indian state of Uttarakhand. It rings the Gangotri Glacier, and contains peaks that are notable either for their religious significance to Hindus, for their difficult climbing routes, or both. Climbs on three of the peaks (Thalay Sagar, Shivling, and Meru) have resulted in the awarding of the prestigious (but controversial) climbing award, the Piolet dOr.
12. Gimmigela Chuli
Gimmigela Chuli, or The Twins, is a mountain in the Himalayas, located on the border between Taplejung, Mechi, Nepal and Sikkim, India. It has an elevation of 7,350 m (24,110 ft) above sea level and is situated approximately 4.2 km (2.6 mi) NNE from Kangchenjunga, the third highest peak on Earth. The mountain has a subpeak, Gimmigela Chuli II (elevation = 7,005 metres; prominence = 185m).[2] This subpeak, sometimes referred to as Gimmigelas Sister, lies entirely within India. Together the two peaks, Gimmigela I and Gimmigela II, are known as The Twins.
13. Guru Shikhar
Guru Shikhar, a peak in the Arbuda Mountains of Rajasthan, is the highest point of the Aravalli Range. It rises to an altitude of 5,676 feet (1722 meters).It is 15 km from Mount Abu and a road from there leads almost to the top of the mountain. A cave at the summit contains a temple of Dattatreya, an incarnation of Lord Vishnu. Adjacent to the temple is the Mt Abu Observatory operated by the Physical Research Laboratory. This observatory hosts a 1.2m infrared telescope and also several Astronomy experiments.
14. Hardeol
Hardeol or Temple of God is one of the major peaks of the Kumaon Himalaya. It is the highest peak on the northern side of the ring of peaks guarding the Nanda Devi Sanctuary, and lies at the northeast corner of this ring. It is situated at the northern end of the Milam valley, in the Pithoragarh district of Uttarakhand, India. To its immediate north lies Trishuli, and just south is Rishi Pahar, on a north-south trending ridge leading eventually to Nanda Devi East. Hardeol is also known as Trishuli South. After a reconnaissance in 1939 and a few serious attempts starting in 1967, the first ascent of Hardeol was made by a team from the Indo-Tibetan Border Police on May 31, 1978, led by S. P. Mulasi, climbing from the ridge connecting the peak to Trishuli. Only one further ascent, in 1991, is listed in the Himalayan Index. This ascent, by a large expedition from the Indian Border Security Force, put five members on the summit on September 24.The best approach to Hardeol is from the eastern side, through the Ikualari glacier and thence to the right, up the Trishuli valley towards the Hardeol icefall. The nearest road to Hardeol is Munsiyari.
15. Haathi Parvat
Haathi Parvat, also known as Elephant Peak, is a mountain in the Garhwal Himalayas in India. It is located in the Chamoli District of Indias Uttrakhand state. Its summit has an elevation of 6,727 metres (22,070 ft).
16. Om Parvat
Om Parvat (also Adi Kailash, Little Kailash, Jonglingkong Peak, Baba Kailash, chhota Kailash) is a mountain in the Himalayan mountain range, lying in the Darchula district of western Nepal and in Pithoragarh District, Uttarakhand, India. It is considered sacred by Hindus and its snow deposition pattern resembles the sacred OM . Its appearance is distinctly similar to Mount Kailash in Tibet. Near Om Parvat lie Parvati Lake and Jonglingkong Lake. Jonglingkong Lake is sacred, as Mansarovar, to the Hindus. Opposite to this peak is a mountain called Parwati Muhar. The Om Parvat is the fruit of discord between India and Nepal who do not reach agreement about the border line between the two countries. The Om Parvat is currently on the Indo-Nepalese border face in India and the back of the mountain in Nepal.
17. Kalanag
Kalanag or Black Peak (6387 mts) is one of the major peaks in the Bandarpunch mountain range, others being Bandarpunch I (6316 mts) and Bandarpunch II (White Peak) (6102 mts). It literally means Black Cobra. It is close to the Ruinsara Valley. The peak was first summited in 1955 by JMT Gibson an English master at the Doon School in Dehradun.
18. Kamet
Kamet is the second highest mountain in the Garhwal region of India, after Nanda Devi. It lies in the Chamoli District of Uttarakhand, close to the border with Tibet. It is the third highest mountain in Indian-controlled territory, although it ranks lower if counting mountains inside Indian-claimed territory in Pakistan, and it is the 29th highest in the world. In appearance it resembles a giant pyramid topped by a flat summit area with two peaks.
19. Kangchenjunga
Kangchenjunga is the third highest mountain in the world. It rises with an elevation of 8,586 m (28,169 ft) in a section of the Himalayas called Kangchenjunga Himal that is limited in the west by the Tamur River and in the east by the Teesta River. The Kangchenjunga Himal is located in eastern Nepal and Sikkim. Kangchenjunga is the highest peak in India, and the easternmost of the peaks higher than 8,000 m (26,247 ft). It is called Five Treasures of Snow after its five high peaks, and has always been worshipped by the people of Darjeeling and Sikkim.The main peak of Kangchenjunga is the second highest mountain in Nepal after Mount Everest. Three of the five peaks ? Main, Central and South ? are on the border between North Sikkim and Nepal. Two peaks are in Taplejung District, Nepal. Until 1852, Kangchenjunga was assumed to be the highest mountain in the world, but calculations based on various readings and measurements made by the Great Trigonometric Survey of India in 1849 came to the conclusion that Mount Everest, known as Peak XV at the time, was the highest. Allowing for further verification of all calculations, it was officially announced in 1856 that Kangchenjunga is the third-highest mountain. Kangchenjunga was first climbed on 25 May 1955 by Joe Brown and George Band, who were part of a British expedition. They stopped short of the summit as per the promise given to the Maharaja of Sikkim that the top of the mountain would remain inviolate. Every climber or climbing group that has reached the summit has followed this tradition. Other members of this expedition included John Angelo Jackson and Tom Mackinon
20. Kang Yatze
Kang Yatze (elevation 6,400 metres (21,000 ft)) is a mountain located at the end of the Markha valley in the Himalayas in the Ladakh region of northwest India. The mountain has two main summits, the lower western peak (Kang Yatze II) is easier (Alpine PD) and more frequently climbed, although lower at about 6200m. The higher eastern peak is the true summit (Kang Yatze I) although less frequently climbed as it is across a technically difficult knife-edge traverse. An alternative is to climb the North East ridge then directly up the steep snow face (Alpine AD+/D-).

Test your English Language
Beautiful Flowers in The World
Things That Men Think Women Can Never Learn
Ways to Get Happy
What to Eat in Tamil Nadu
Beautiful Steps on Earth
Best Peacock Mehndi Designs
Benefits of Nutmeg
Benefits of Onions
Benefits of Oranges